Sounder News

Dr. Tracey Thorne of Gabriola has been recognized this year with a Community Award from the BC Achievement Foundation – which recognizes extraordinary British Columbians who build better, stronger and more resilient communities. Premier John Horgan and Anne Giardini, Chair of the BC Achievement Foundation, named the recipients of the 19th annual Community Award. The program, presented by BC Achievement – an independent foundation that honours excellence and inspires achievement throughout the province – recognizes extraordinary British Columbians who build better, stronger and more resilient communities.

Giardini said, “We are incredibly proud to celebrate the work of these 20 individuals, who shine as examples of dedication and service. The past two years have been challenging for all of us. It’s heartening to see these community leaders, visionaries, innovators and volunteers continuing to work to make the world a better place while lighting a path of achievement for other British Columbians to follow.”

On receiving the award, Dr. Thorne said, “I am humbled and honoured to be recognized among such an outstanding group of people from across the province. This award is designed to inspire people by showing the many ways to contribute to your local community and beyond. My inclusion hopefully shows that community based family medicine matters, that addressing the social determinants of health is important and that there are a myriad of ways that anyone can contribute their skills to build and improve the community the serve.”

In describing Dr. Thorne, the Foundation says, “Dr. Thorne is a dedicated leader of the Gabriola Chapter of the Rural and Remote Division of Family Practice. Dr. Thorne pushed for rural communities, and their healthcare providers, to get the support they needed during the pandemic. She was instrumental in creating a position for a Mental Health and Substance Use Nurse and a social worker, both of whom are now embedded in the community of Gabriola Island. Embracing the range and needs of family practice medicine, Dr. Thorne also partnered with a local service agency to create a palliative care program on Gabriola Island and initiated a community-based organization, the Gabriola Health and Wellness Collaborative.

“Dr. Thorne has also served the Youth Wellness Clinic in Nanaimo and was on the Advisory Board for the Adult Mental Health and Substance Use Spread Network with the Nanaimo Division of Family Practice. In 2019, she was awarded a BC College of Family Physicians’ Social Determinants of Health grant to develop the Mama Mood program, a facilitated counselling and support group for mothers on Gabriola Island.”

The Community Award recipients are selected by an independent committee, whose 2022 members include Mayor Maja Tait of Sooke, Mayor Clara Reinhardt of Radium Hot Springs, and past recipients Aisha Amijee and Kal Dosanjh.

Dr. Thorne is one of two recipients from the Nanaimo area, together with Sqwulutsultun William Yoachim.

Premier John Horgan said, “This year’s Community Award recipients have supported their communities during exceptionally difficult times and are an inspiration to us all. They have dedicated their time and energy to helping their friends and neighbours, and British Columbia is a better province because of them.”

The 2022 Community Award recipients will be recognized in a formal presentation ceremony held in Victoria, BC, on May 10 in the presence of the Honourable Janet Austin, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia.

Each awardee will receive a certificate and medallion designed by BC artist Robert Davidson, CM, OBC.

They will also be celebrated through an online campaign #shinethelightbc to commemorate their excellence and inspirational achievements positively impacting British Columbians.

For more information about the BC Achievement Foundation or Community Award program, please visit

Local News