Sounder News

There are six candidates running for three positions in this year’s Fire Board election.

The Gabriola Fire Protection Improvement District Election and Annual General Meeting will both be held on April 19.

Voting for the Election will be between Noon and 7pm at the Albert Reed Memorial Fire Hall #1 on Church Street.

Polls will close at 7pm, and the AGM will begin at 7:30pm.

The candidates are:

Douglas G. Haines

Erik D. Johnson

Sean Lewis

Diana Moher

John Moeller

Robert L. Rooks

Lewis, Moher, and Moeller are all incumbents, having served for the past three years on the Fire Board.

The deadline for nominating a candidate was this past Friday, March 31 at 4pm.
No nominations will be taken from the floor at the AGM.

Voters must be:
A Canadian Citizen;
18 years or older;
A resident of B.C. for the last six (6) months;
Be an owner of land located within the improvement district or the authorized agent or legal representative of a deceased owner of such land;
Not otherwise be disqualified from voting under section 29 of the Election Act

Local News