Sounder News

Susan Yates and Tobi Elliott will be the Island Trustees for the Gabriola Local Trust Area for the next four years winning against four other opponents in the Islands Trust part of the 2022 Local Government Elections.

Yates took in the most votes, with 749, Elliott took in 662.

Lisa Webster had 515, Erik Johnson had 309, Wendy Kotorynski had 219, and Wayne Mercier had 203.

2,657 votes were cast, with there being 4,131 persons listed on the voters list (not counting instant registrations). 32% of potential votes were cast – not all voters will have chosen to vote for up to two candidates.

The first meeting for the new LTC is scheduled for December 1, 2022.

Vanessa Craig was acclaimed as the Director for Electoral Area B (Gabriola, Mudge, Decourcy) in the Regional District of Nanaimo.

The only other names on the ballot for residents of Area B were for School Trustee within Nanaimo Ladysmith Public Schools District #68.

Naomi Bailey earned the most votes of the nine winning trustees, with 10,395.

The other Trustees voted in were:

Tania Brzovic: 10,001

Greg Keller: 8,981

Charlene McKay: 8,761

Leana Pellegrin: 8,028

Mark Robinson: 7,229

Leanne Lee: 6,951

Chantelle Morvay: 6,675

Tom Rokeby: 6,450

Not successful in their election runs were Bill Robinson (6,286), Tanner Scott (5,407), and Andrew Gasson (5,187).

Local News